Gemma HallidayGemma Halliday is back with a new High Heels Mystery and a story in an anthology, “Dreams and Desires”… Take a trip to Vegas and support a good cause!

Hi Gemma and welcome back on Veronika asks!
Thanks, Veronika! I love your site, I’m always happy to visit.

Let’s talk about Killer in High Heels, your second novel in the High Heels series! So, how have you been since our last talking on July 2006? Lots of work?
I’ve been hard at work on my third High Heels book, as well as putting the finishing touches on number two, which will be out later thismonth. In addition to that, I was fortunately enough to have a shortstory published in the DREAMS AND DESIRES charity anthology earlierthis month. So, life has been a whirlwind lately, but I’m enjoying every minute of it.

“Killer in High Heels” will be out on February 27th, 2007! Can you tell us a bit more about what will happen to Maddie?
In KILLER IN HIGH HEELS, Maddie gets a mysterious phone call from herlong-lost father, which leads her to fabulous Las Vegas. While thereshe gets tangled up with a group of shoe trafficking mobsters, aover-zealous tabloid reporter, a handful of ageing drag queens, andone ruthless killer. Oh yes, and, of course, the uber-sexy Detective Ramirez. This one was a blast to write, I just loved the wacky, decadent setting and got a kick out creating some of the interesting new characters.

And then comes “Undercover in High Heels”…
UNDERCOVER IN HIGH HEELS finds Maddie working as a wardrobe assistant on the set of a hit TV show. Which is a dream job until a pretty young actress turns up dead in the star’s trailer. Along with herusual cast of oddball friends and family, Maddie is soon on the trail of Hollywood’s hottest killer. I used to work in television, so thiswas really fun for me to write, drawing on a lot of personal experience. Though, no, I never stumbled over dead bodies on the set!UNDERCOVER should be hitting stores later this summer.

You also have a story published in “Dreams and Desires”, a fabulous anthology. Tell us more about it.
The anthology is put out by Freya’s Bower and is actually going tobecome an annual event. All the proceed from the sale of the booksare going directly to help victims of domestic violence and Marci Baun, the editor in chief of Freya’s Bower, has just done an amazing job pulling it all together, putting out a fantastic book for a wonderful cause. My contribution is a short story called, “Confessions of a Bombshell Bandit”. It’s about a woman who is fired, evicted, and robbed all in the same day and decides to take her life into her own hands with avery no-more-miss-nice-chick attitude.

You can view a trailer for thestory on my website and also on my MySpace page http://www.myspace.com/highheelsmysteries & http://www.gemmahalliday.com

I heard there will be a fourth one.
Yes, there will! It is yet untitled, in fact I’m running a contest on my website right now to name that book [It will be Alibi in High Heels]. In this one, Maddie will bejetsetting around Europe, hot on the trail of a Cary Grant-esque cat bugler turned murder suspect. I’m really excited to explore a European setting and am hoping to incorporate a lot of Parisian fashion into the story.

Do you plan another one?
The series is very open-ended, but at the moment I’m only contract for the four books. We’ll see how demanding Maddie gets for more pagetime, though.

We talked about it at the Virtual Book Launch Party on February 1st, if you’d turn High Heels into a movie, do you have an idea about the cast?
I love this question! Yes, my first book, SPYING IN HIGH HEELS, has recently been optioned for a television series. No word on production yet, but it’s an exciting possibility. Personally, I always saw Maddie as the Reece Witherspoon’s character in Legally Blonde. Cute, perky, and totally smart under that pink and blonde exterior. As for Ramirez, any one of those hunky Spanish soap stars would work for me ;)

Would you like to add something?
Thanks so much for having me, Veronika! It’s always fun to come chat with you.

Thanks, Gemma!
Gemma’s website http://www.gemmahalliday.com

Leave a Reply

