Cara LockwoodDiscover a funny interview with Cara Lockwood, author of “Wuthering High”, the first novel in the “Bard Academy” series. Enroll in the Bard Academy…

Hi Cara and welcome to “Veronika asks”! Please tell us a few words about you… If you could describe yourself with three words…
I’ll go with my self-imposed American Indian Name: “Novelist Wearing Pajamas”

I read you’re Gemini. They’re known for being communicative and witty but really inquisitive. Could you say you’re a typical Gemini?
Well, I’d say I’m probably as talkative as your average Gemini and I’m very inquisitive, but I like to think I’m not quite as schizophrenic as some I know.

Now, let’s talk a bit about “Wuthering High”… is it your first YA novel?
Yes, this is my first YA novel.

How did you get that idea?
I wanted to write something new and different, that was both entertaining and a little bit educational at the same time. When I was younger, I actually really loved the classics, and I thought it would be great if I could somehow incorporate them into a modern story.

Why should we read “Wuthering High”?
It’s fun, fast-paced, and Heathcliff is a total hunk. Seriously – he is. I’ve had people write me about him.

“Wuthering High” is the first book in a series – “The Bard Academy” one. Tell us more about the sequel!
The sequel is called “The Scarlet Letterman” and in it, Miranda learns what it’s like to date the most popular boy in school while pining for the most notorious boy in school.

Before writing, you were a newspaper reporter. Did it help you?
It definitely helped me develop a thicker skin when it came to being edited, because newspaper editors aren’t the most sensitive people when it comes to telling you that your work, well, needs work. I also learned quite a bit about writing under really tight deadlines.

How did you start writing?
I’ve always loved to write, which comes from my love of reading. When I was really young, I kept diaries and wrote poems and short stories. Writing novels was just a natural extension of what I loved to do.

How do you usually write (where, when, how)? How do you react to the writer’s block?
I can write nearly anywhere, which is why I have a small and light laptop, which I take with me whenever the mood strikes. I do have a home office, where I do most of my writing because it’s really close to my refrigerator. But I’m also a fan of the coffee shop, mostly because I’m a caffeine junkie. In terms of writer’s block, the only way to deal with it I think is to just step back from what you’re doing and take a break. When I’m blocked, I think it’s my brain’s way of telling me that I need to go do something else for awhile, whether that’s head to the mall or watch TV or just go for a walk so that my batteries can recharge.

How do you imagine your reader? You know, when you say to yourself: “there’s somebody reading my book right now”… who do you picture?
That’s a tough one. I’d say that most of the time when I write, I have myself in mind as a reader. Would I like this book if I were 15 and looking for something to read? If the answer is yes, then I think I’m on the right track.

Do you have some advice for young writers?
Read! It sounds silly, but did you know that there are more people out there who claim to want to be novelists than actually buy books every year? It’s insane, really. Because there is no better training for writing than reading. Read everything you can get your hands on. Faulkner once said that even bad books can teach you something about writing.

Is there a book you wish you’d written?
Well, I like all my books naturally. Picking a favorite is like trying to pick your favorite child/pet. It just feels like playing favorites. I do often read a good book by someone else and kick myself wishing I’d written it.

Would like to add something, Cara?
I think you’ve got it covered. Thanks for having me! And if anyone wants more information, they can check out my website, http://www.bardacademy.com/ or http://www.caralockwood.com/ !

And now the nothing-to-do-with-books question: You’ve just found 100 $ in your pocket, how will you use that money?
Oooh. Found money. I love that feeling. I’d head straight to Nordstrom (my favorite store) and either buy shoes, or a handbag, or lots of overly expensive make-up!


“Tea or Coffee?”

Saturday evening. Book or Disco?Going out! I’ll read on Sunday.🙂
Holidays. Beach or Mountains ?Beach!
Country or City ?Definitely City
Watching a movie. Comedy or Drama (or something else)?Comedy
Shy or Easy-going ?Easy-going
Serious or Funny ?Funny (I hope)
Traveler or not ?Traveler
Sporty or not ?Hmmmm. I play tennis, but I’m not sure how sporty I actually am. I hate the gym!
The leader or not ? Probably not. I’m a good follower.


“Favorite…”

TV show : Lost
Movie : The Royal Tenenbaums
Book : Pride and Prejudice By Jane Austen
Music : Death Cab For Cutie and The Killers
Food : Sushi (I am half Japanese – it’s a shout-out to my peeps)
City : Chicago (where I live)
Favorite place to write: Anywhere with coffee, specifically double-shot lattes
Quote or motto: Humor is the best medicine

Thank you, Cara!
Visit Cara’s website http://www.caralockwood.com/

Leave a Reply

