Kat Martin

Posted: June 3, 2007 in Romance, Veronika Asks Interviews
Tags: , , , ,

Kat MartinAn interview with best-selling historical romance and contemporary novel author Kat Martin. Today, she talks about her new novel, Scent of Roses, a ghost story.

Hi Kat! Would you like to introduce yourself to your readers and tell us more about Scent of Roses?
Hi, everyone. My name is Kat Martin and I write Historical Romance and Romantic Suspense. I’ve been writing since 1985 and have written more than 36 novels. SCENT OF ROSES is my latest book. It’s a ghost story based on an incident that actually happened in the San Joaquin Valley in the summer of 1995. Of course, I added the sexy bad-boy hero, Zachary Harcourt, who is one of my personal favorites.

Astrology now: what’s your sign? Do you match the sign description?
I’m a Gemini, born June 14, Flag Day, and I match Gemini very, very closely.

Why a ghost story? Did something like that happen to you?
I have always been interested in the paranormal. When I was in high school, I wanted to be a parapsychologist. There were so few schools, it was impossible to make that happen. I have had several interesting experiences, one was the basis for my first ghost story, THE SILENT ROSE.

For a first read, which one of your books would you recommend? Which one is your favorite?
I really think SCENT OF ROSES may be the best book I’ve ever written. It is so interesting and different, and I loved the hero, who was such a sexual kind of guy. My personal favorite is THE SECRET, maybe because it’s a contemporary romantic suspense set on a ranch in Montana.

How do you write (how, when, where)?
I usually get on the computer by 10:30 in the mornings and first do whatever PR work I need to do (like this interview). That gives me a little time to wake up and get ready to write. I try to be writing no later than noon and go till maybe six, then it’s time for a glass of wine and a little relaxation with my husband. Amazing how tired you are after six hours of concentrated writing.

Some authors really like to write in Starbucks… do you?
I love Starbucks! But I go there to drink coffee not to work. I have a gorgeous view from my office in Montana and also from my work space at our house at the beach, where we live in the winter.

Have your books been turned into movies (or maybe will be)?
I had a lot of interest from HBO TV for THE SILENT ROSE. Currently have a bit of interest in SCENT OF ROSES. I think both would make great movies. THE SECRET might make a good movie, as well. Love to have it happen.

I’ve seen on your website that you travel a lot. Do you have a treasured souvenir?
I have a wonderful piece-of-eight–a silver doubloon–pirate treasure off the sunken ship, Atochia, bought in Key West Florida, a souvenir of my book, DEEP BLUE. I have a great gold nugget I wear on a chain. It came from Dawson City, Yukon, a souvenir of MIDNIGHT SUN.

Do you base your books on real events?
I use real events whenever possible. I mention things that have happened in the news to valid the story I am trying to tell. In SCENT OF ROSES, the ghost was a real murder victim and according to extremely credible reports actually appeared as I tell the story in the book.

And now the nothing-to-do-with-books question: you’ve just found 100 $ in your pocket, how will you use that money?
Probably put it in the bank. Wait a minute–that’s no fun. If I was staying at the beach instead of being in Montana where it’s hard to find places to spend money, I would probably go out to dinner somewhere over-looking the water.

 

“Tea or Coffee?”

Saturday night. Book or Disco? Going out.
Holidays. Beach or Mountains? Either mountains or beach.
Country or City? Both, at one time or another.
Watching a movie. Comedy or Drama (or something else ?)? Big flick, entertaining and fun.
Shy or Easy-going? Neither. Driven and fairly serious.
Serious or Funny? Pretty serious, with moments of humor.
Traveler or not? Yes.
Spory girl or Couch potato? Sporty? What is “sporty?”
Leader or Follower? Probably not a leader.


“Favorite…”


TV show: Currently, Medium.
Movie: Quigley Down Under
Book: Eagle in the Sky
Music: Country Western
City: Paris
Favorite place to write: Mountains or beach
Quote or Motto: My favorite word would be censored in this article.

Thank you, Kat!
You can visit Kat’s site here: http://www.katbooks.com

Leave a Reply

