Melanie Lynne Hauser

Posted: June 3, 2007 in Chick Lit, Interviews
Tags: , , , ,

Melanie Lynne HauserSuperman is so old. Welcome Super Mom! Meeting Melanie Lynne Hauser, author of “Confessions of Super Mom”.

Hi Melanie! Please, introduce yourself to your readers…
Former member of the PTA, Melanie Lynne Hauser is a prototypical Super Mom. CONFESSIONS OF SUPER MOM is her first novel, and she is a contributor, along with Jodi Picoult, Jacqueline Mitchard, Jennifer Lauck and Marion Winik, to the anthology Its a Boy (November 2005, Seal Press). SUPER MOM SAVES THE WORLD will be published by NAL in March, 2007. She lives in the Chicago area with her husband and two teenage sons.

Astrology now: you’re a Sagittarius, right? They are often philosophical, optmistic and restless. Are you a typical Sagittarius?
Not so much – I think I am restless, but I’m definitely not optimistic! Although I am argumentative & stubborn, which I think are also traits.

If you could describe yourself with three words…
Lose ten pounds.

Now, let’s talk about your book, “Confessions of Super Mom”. Tell us more!
The book is about an ordinary divorced mother of two teenagers, who suffers a Horrible Swiffer Accident one morning. All of a sudden she has strange new powers, and discovers that she is actually a superhero. The book is about how she juggles these two worlds – superhero, and plain old mom. So she goes out and has to save the world from evil villains, and then come home to laundry, dirty dishes and mouthy teenagers.

How did you get that idea, Melanie?
I wanted to write about ordinary women, but it’s important, in publishing, to find a little something extra that will get people talking. So I came up with the idea of someone who’s just so ordinary, so down to earth – so like the women I know in my own life – but who also has this secret identity; these fantastic powers that the rest of us can only dream of.

Superheroes are often bitten by mutant spiders, receive X-rays and survive nuclear wars. But why, in your book, a Swiffer accident?
I thought it was important for her accident to be caused by something that we all do, every single day. It could have been a cooking accident, but I liked the idea of a cleaning accident. And then I thought, “What’s a product that almost everybody knows, that you would understand what it was just by the title?” And I thought of Swiffer – it’s almost become a verb, actually. I hear women talk about “Swiffering” their floors. And so that’s why I chose the Horrible Swiffer Accident.

Would you define yourself as Super Mom?
Um, no. I think one of the points of the book is that we really can’t be super moms, unless we’re given actual superhero powers. The rest of us just do the best we can – and it’s still rather heroic, isn’t it?

What about the sequel, “Super Mom saves the World”?
Super Mom is back, finding that her town – like her children – is starting to take her for granted, and not really appreciate all the hard work she does keeping them safe. She and her own super man are also taking the next steps toward blending their families, as they contemplate marriage – but her ex-husband reinserts himself back in her life in an unexpected way. And of course there’s the requisite evil villain – this time, a politician who wants to exploit the children of the town by focusing too much on organized sports (baseball).

If you could have any super power, which one would you pick?
The ability to eat anything I want without gaining weight.

How (when where) do you work? Do you keep a diary?
I tend to work most in the afternoons. The morning is usually spent organizing my life and the lives of my children; exercising, catching up on busy work. Then I write in the afternoons, usually from 1-4. I can’t write more than 2 or 3 hours at a time without getting very stale. Although when I’m nearing the end of a book, I do find myself tending to shut everything out and writing at all hours, whenever, wherever, because I’m so caught up in the story. I don’t keep a diary, no. Although I suppose my blog (www.melanielynnehauser.com/wordpress/) is starting to serve that purpose!

And now the nothing-to-do-with-books question: you’ve just found 100 $ in your pocket, how will you use that money?
Buy shoes!


“Tea or Coffee?”


Saturday evening. Going out or read a book ?Book.
Holidays. Beach or Mountains ?Mountains.
Country or City ?CityWatching a movie. Comedy or Drama (or something else ?) ?Westerns!
Shy or Easy-going ?Ooh – neither. I think I’m probably more high-maintenance than I’d like to be!
Serious or Funny ?Funny!
Traveler or not ?Not so much, although I find myself doing more traveling, and enjoying it.
Sporty or not ?Definitely not!
The Leader in the group or not ?Yes – the leader!

“Favorite…”

TV show: The Amazing Race
Movie : Giant
Book : Howards End
City : Chicago
Music : Nanci Griffith is my favorite artist
Favourite place to write in : a cabin in the mountains of Colorado
Quote or motto: “Life is a marathon, not a race.”

Thank you, Melanie!
Visit Melanie’s website http://www.melanielynnehauser.com

Leave a Reply

