Jen CalonitaJen Calonita chats with me again and tells us more about her latest book and #2 Secrets novel, “Secret of my Hollywood Life: On Location”

Hey Jen and welcome back on Veronika Asks. So, the second book in the “Secrets of my Hollywood Life” series, On Location, has been released. Tell us more about it (juicy spoilers, juicy spoilers!) !
SECRETS 2 TAKES PLACE DURING KAITLIN’S HIATUS FROM FAMILY AFFAIR. SHE’S SPENDING THE SUMMER SHOOTING A POTENTIAL BLOCKBUSTER WITH HER FAVORITE DIRECTOR. THE PROBLEM IS, THE DIRECTOR TURNS OUT TO BE A LOT CRAZIER THAN KAITLIN REALIZED. PLUS, KAITLIN’S EX, DREW THOMAS, WHO IS KAITLIN’S COSTAR IN THE FILM, IS HELLBENT ON WINNING KAITLIN BACK SO THAT HE CAN GET SOME GOOD PRESS. THAT DOESN’T GO OVER SO WELL WITH AUSTIN, WHO KAITLIN IS FINALLY STARTING A RELATIONSHIP WITH. THROW IN SKY, WHO HAS ACCEPTED A LAST-MINUTE ROLE IN THE FILM AS WELL AND KAITLIN’S GOT QUITE A MESS ON HER HANDS.

Will there be a Secrets 3? If there will, what will Kaitlin have to deal with?
YES, I’M FINISHING SECRETS 3 RIGHT NOW AND I’M HAVING SO MUCH FUN WITH IT. WE FINALLY GET TO SEE KAITLIN AT WORK ON HER TV SHOW AND ALL IT ENTAILS. THIS SEASON THERE IS A NEW ACTRESS GETTING A LOT OF ATTENTION AND SHE CAUSES SO MANY PROBLEMS FOR KAITLIN AND SKY THAT THE TWO OF THEM HAVE TO TEAM UP TO TAKE THE NEW GIRL DOWN A NOTCH.

How many Secrets do you think there will be?
I’M NOT SURE–I HOPE THERE WILL BE MANY MORE! RIGHT NOW WE’RE BEGINNING TO TALK ABOUT A POSSIBLE SECRETS FOUR AND SECRETS FIVE. WE’LL SEE.

What about “Sleepaway Girls”, the series you spoke about in our first interview?
I’M WORKING ON SLEEPAWAY GIRLS TOO. THAT WILL BE JUST A SINGLE BOOK, NOT A SERIES, BUT IT WILL DEAL WITH ALL THE FUN AND CHAOS THAT GOES ON AT A COED SLEEPAWAY CAMP.

Do you continue working for or with magazines or do you write full time now?
I DO STILL WRITE FOR MAGAI’M SUCH A FAN OF THINGS LIKE THE DEVIL WEARS PRADA. I LOVE GIRLY MOVIES! I JUST SAW HAIRSPRAY THIS WEEKEND AND LOVED IT.ZINES WHENEVER I CAN, BUT I LOVE WRITING BOOKS.

What are you currently reading? What would you advise our readers for perfect beach reads?
I’M READING SPELLS AND SLEEPING BAGS BY SARAH MLYNOWSKI, WHICH IS SO FUNNY AND SMART. I’M ALSO READING THE FINAL HARRY POTTER (WHO ISN’T?)

And what about perfect girly movies?
I’M SUCH A FAN OF THINGS LIKE THE DEVIL WEARS PRADA. I LOVE GIRLY MOVIES! I JUST SAW HAIRSPRAY THIS WEEKEND AND LOVED IT.

Girl talk now, which are the latest gossips that hooked you?
I READ ALL THE TABLOIDS! IT’S GREAT FOR IDEAS FOR THE SECRETS BOOKS.

What do you think about eBooks? Would you consider writing one?
I’VE NEVER THOUGHT OF DOING ONE, BUT IT WOULDN’T BE OUT OF THE QUESTION.WHO KNOWS?

Reading question that has no connection with Secrets (the authors I interview are used to these “off-subject questions”) : dear Harry Potter fan, are you impatient to read the final book in the saga?
I GUESS THIS DOESN’T PERTAIN TO ME SINCE I’M SO LATE!

Would you like to say something special?
THANK YOU ALL FOR READING SECRETS AND GETTING INVOLVED IN KAITLIN’S LIFE. I HOPE YOU ENJOY THE NEW SAGA! HAPPY SUMMER!


“Tea or Coffee?”

Saturday evening. Going out or reading a book ? Going out.
Holidays. Beach or Mountains ? Pool. I’m a float on a raft and read a book in the pool kind of girl.
Country or City ? Somewhere in-between
Watching a movie. Comedy or Drama (or something else)? Depends on my mood. I like both.
Shy or Easy-going ? Easy-going
Serious or Funny ? Funny
Traveler? Traveler
Sporty? Nah.
Leader or Follower? I’m part of the crowd, but will lead when needed.


“Favorite…”

TV show : All my favorites are being cancelled!😦 I guess Gilmore Girls.
Movie : Pirates of the Caribbean (the original)
Book : Currently Frogs and French Kisses by Sarah Mlynowski
Music : A little John Mayer and Norah Jones never hurt anybody
City to visit : I adore Boston, where I went to college (Boston College)
Place to write: My home office
Motto: “Home is where your story begins.”

Thanks, Jen !

Leave a Reply

