Janet Evanovich

Posted: September 8, 2009 in Interviews, Mystery
Tags: , , , , ,

Janet EvanovichAcclaimed author (think about the bestselling Stephanie Plum series) Janet Evanovich answers my questions about writing in different genres and tells us more about her upcoming graphic novel & her favorites…

Hi Janet, and thanks for visiting me on “Veronika Asks”! Let’s talk a little about you, at first. You’re Taurus, aren’t you? They’re usually known for being patient, determined but also jealous. Do you consider yourself a typical Bull?
The only thing Taurusy about me is the determination. I must have been born when the moon wasn’t aligned right or something.

How would you describe yourself with three words?
Honest, tenacious, fortunate.

Before the Stephanie Plum mysteries, you wrote a dozen romance novels. Would you get back to romance if a publisher offered you a deal? Do you think an author is losing credibility writing in very different genres? Young authors are often worried about writing in different genres and building a fanbase.
I’m considering getting back into the romance world with another co-authored romance book. I can do this because I’m well established. New writers should pick a genre that best suits them and stick with it for a while. I don’t think there is any loss of credibility for switching genres, but it’s hard to build a fanbase and improve your skills when you are switching from one type of book to another.

I heard you’re working on a graphic novel. Can you tell us more about it (the scoop, the scoop!)? How did this idea strike you? Do you think your readers will follow? And, by the way, what do you think about eBooks and their future in the publishing world?
My daughter, Alex, and I have always loved comics. So we decided to take Alex Barnaby to the world of graphic novels. We are writing a new story to follow up my books Metro Girl and Motor Mouth.
I’m sure some of my readers will follow, and some might even try reading a graphic novel for the first time. It’s very exciting. The eBook world seems to be growing.

You said on your website you’d like to see Sandra Bullock as Stephanie Plum in the movie based on Stephanie’s adventures. Who would complete the cast? How’s the project going?
The only other character I can see cast in my mind’s eye is Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson as Ranger. The studio bought the rights to the characters years ago and they’ve been writing and re-writing scripts ever since. Truthfully we have no idea how the movie project is going.

Imagine for a second: you wake up one morning and can’t write anymore (let’s hope it never happens): what will you do? Is there something you’ve always wanted to do but didn’t (something you’d try then)?
I’d go on a vacation. I’ve always wanted to go on a vacation. Maybe to Hawaii.

Finally, can’t do without the “Nothing-to-do-with-books-question”: you’ve just found $100, how will you use your newly acquired money?
I’d take my family out for pizza and ice cream.


“Favorite…”

Author & Book: Carl Barks/The Fabulous Philosopher’s Stone
Movie & TV show: Enchanted/Entourage
Food: Birthday Cake
City: Boston
Music: Disco
Place to write: My office
Quote or Motto: Go for it


“Tea or Coffee?”

Saturday night. Disco & Restaurant or Home, Books & DVDs? Restaurant & DVD
Going on holidays. Beach or Mountains? Beach
Sleepy Little Town or Crazy Megapolis? Crazy Megapolis
Pick a DVD: Comedy or Weepy Drama? Comedy
Like To Travel or Hate to Move? Hate to Travel
Sport Lover or Couch Potato? Couch Potato
Leader or Follower? Leader
Shy or Easy-going? Loud and obnoxious
Serious or Funny? Sunny

Thank you, Janet!
You can learn more about Janet Evanovich and her books at http://www.evanovich.com
Ask Janet! Discover Janet’s Q&A at http://evanovich.com/qa/ask

Comments
  1. Michelle says:

    Dear Janet, I’m a 42 year old female who hates to read for always since the 3rd grade, like forever. I went through school reading only what I really had to, to get by. Last year my mom was telling me she had been reading this series written by “you”. She has never been a book reader either, so I knew if these books interested her just maybe they might just get me interested too. I always wished that I liked reading since everything involves reading something. So my mom sent me some books and I picked it up and for the first time I LOVE READING. I have read 10 books since Aug. 2010 and I can’t seem to get Stephanie Plum and her adventures out of my mind. I just wanted to Thank you for getting me interested in reading. I really enjoy this what a joy you have given back to me that my mom remembers I had when I was a little girl. Also thanks for getting my mom into reading too, she loves your books and if she had not gotten interested I probally would’nt have either. So Thanks you are my literature goddess. Michelle🙂

Leave a Reply

